CLEAR Webinar: Regulating Licensees' Use of Social Media (4pm EDT; 6am AEST)

  • 08 Jun 2022
  • 4:00 PM - 5:00 PM
  • Via Webinar: at your desk! (June 8 at 4:00 pm EDT; June 9 at 6:00 am AEST)
  • 232

Registration

(depends on selected options)

Base fee:
  • If you are unable to select the member price and believe you or your organization is a member, please contact membership at membership@clearhq.org to be added to a membership bundle.
    To add additional attendees under this registration at no cost, choose Add Guest after registering the first attendee.
  • To add additional attendees under this registration at no cost, choose Add Guest after registering the first attendee.

Register


Regulators need to develop a policy or guidance to practitioners about the expected standards around the use of social media.  "It's a sign of the times - the need to adjust to contemporary practice and social norms."  "Social media has changed the landscape for all of us, both in our personal lives and in our professional lives."  CLEAR's May podcast episode discusses regulating licensees' use of social media (listen here May 10), but there are still more questions to explore. This webinar panel discussion will consider the public’s expectation versus licensees’ expectation when using social media; the legal concept of freedom of speech and whether that applies to licensees, especially when using social media as a platform for activism; and whether social media usage should be covered under a professionalism standard or code of conduct. Panelists will also discuss some recent cases and their implications.


Presenters:

Andrew Charnock, chief executive and registrar, Occupational Therapy Board of New Zealand

Nancy Spector, director of regulatory innovations,National Council of State Boards of Nursing

Lise Betteridge, registrar and CEO, Ontario College of Social Workers and Social Service Workers

Dale Atkinson, managing member, Atkinson & Atkinson, LLC


The webinar will take place

June 8, 2022 (US and Canada):

4:00 – 5:00 pm Eastern Daylight Time

3:00 – 4:00 pm Central Daylight Time

2:00 – 3:00 pm Mountain Daylight Time*

1:00 – 2:00 pm Pacific Daylight Time

12:00 – 1:00 pm Alaska Daylight Time

5:00 – 6:00 pm Atlantic Daylight Time


June 9, 2022 (Australia and New Zealand):

6:00 - 7:00 am AEST

8:00 - 9:00 am NZST


(Please check to confirm the time zone specific to your location or *if your location does not observe Daylight Time: http://www.timeanddate.com/worldclock/converter.html)


Offerings are presented through web-based PowerPoint and audio. Attendees receive a copy of the PowerPoint presentation after the webinar.

With your registration fee, you may have up to 5 attendees logging in from separate computers. When registering, please add guests (at no additional charge), and all registered attendees will receive the email with login instructions. Please make sure to include your guests in the registration; do not forward the webinar login link to others.


Can't attend live? Register now for the event, and we'll send you a recording instead.

Planning to attend live but you'd also like a copy of the recording afterwards?  Webinar attendees can choose to purchase the webinar recording at a discounted rate when registering.


By registering for this event, I understand that CLEAR will be recording this session and I consent to such a recording. Questions about session recordings can be directed to Stephanie Thompson at sthompson@clearhq.org or at webinars@clearhq.org.




Copyright © 2021 CLEAR
Please read the following disclaimer.  |  
Website by Nicasio LLC and CLEAR
108 Wind Haven Dr., Ste. A
Nicholasville, KY 40356
(859) 269-1289
Fax: (859) 231-1943
Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software