CLEAR Webinar: Sunrise Reviews and Right-Sizing Occupational Regulation

  • 29 Jun 2022
  • 1:00 PM - 2:00 PM
  • Via Webinar: at your desk! (June 29 at 1:00 pm EDT)
  • 250

Registration

(depends on selected options)

Base fee:
  • If you are unable to select the member price and believe you or your organization is a member, please contact membership@clearhq.org to be added to a membership bundle.
    To add additional attendees under this registration at no cost, choose Add Guest after registering the first attendee.
  • To add additional attendees under this registration at no cost, choose Add Guest after registering the first attendee.

Register


The Institute for Justice, a non-profit, public interest law firm, has released a new study, Too Many Licenses? Government “Sunrise” Reviews Cast Doubt on Barriers to Work. The report examines 30 years’ worth of sunrise reviews and draws lessons for licensing policy. Sunrise laws task government agencies with reviewing licensing proposals using criteria such as whether there is proof of harm from an occupation, whether benefits of licensing would outweigh costs, and whether public safety could be better protected in a less burdensome or restrictive way. Listen to the CLEAR podcast released June 14 to learn about common features of sunrise review programs, details of the IJ’s research of nearly 500 sunrise reviews, and the keys to conducting strong sunrise reviews. Then join us for this webinar to dive deeper into what the research and experience can tell us about establishing a strong sunrise review program – including the appropriate review criteria, maintaining independence of the reviewer, and allowing ample time and resources to conduct the review. We’ll also have deeper discussion of lessons learned for licensing policy more broadly – the need for systemic, empirical proof of harms from an occupation and evidence that the regulation sought is the least restrictive means to address those harms.


Presenters:

Lisa Knepper, Institute for Justice

Kathy Sanchez, Institute for Justice

Elizabeth Carter, Director, Healthcare Workforce Data Center and Data Analytics Division, Virginia Department of Health Professions


The webinar will take place June 29, 2022 at

1:00 - 2:00 pm Eastern Daylight Time

12:00 noon – 1:00 pm Central Daylight Time

11:00 am – 12:00 noon Mountain Daylight Time

10:00 – 11:00 am Pacific Daylight Time

9:00 – 10:00 am Alaska Daylight Time

2:00 – 3:00 pm Atlantic Daylight Time


Offerings are presented through web-based PowerPoint and audio. Attendees receive a copy of the PowerPoint presentation after the webinar.

With your registration fee, you may have up to 5 attendees logging in from separate computers. When registering, please add guests (at no additional charge), and all registered attendees will receive the email with login instructions. Please make sure to include your guests in the registration; do not forward the webinar login link to others.


Can't attend live? Register now for the event, and we'll send you a recording instead.

Planning to attend live but you'd also like a copy of the recording afterwards?  Webinar attendees can choose to purchase the webinar recording at a discounted rate when registering.


By registering for this event, I understand that CLEAR will be recording this session and I consent to such a recording. Questions about session recordings can be directed to Stephanie Thompson at sthompson@clearhq.org or at webinars@clearhq.org.



Copyright © 2021 CLEAR
Please read the following disclaimer.  |  
Website by Nicasio LLC and CLEAR
108 Wind Haven Dr., Ste. A
Nicholasville, KY 40356
(859) 269-1289
Fax: (859) 231-1943
Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software