CLEAR Webinar: Doctors, Patients, Sex and Chaperones: Rethinking Medical Regulation (4pm EST; 8am AEDT)

  • 02 Feb 2022
  • 4:00 PM - 5:00 PM
  • Via Webinar: at your desk! (February 2 at 4:00 pm EST; February 3 at 8:00 am AEDT)
  • 178

Registration

(depends on selected options)

Base fee:
  • If you are unable to select the member price and believe you or your organization is a member, please contact membership at membership@clearhq.org to be added to a membership bundle.
    To add additional attendees under this registration at no cost, choose Add Guest after registering the first attendee.
  • To add additional attendees under this registration at no cost, choose Add Guest after registering the first attendee.

Register


There have been some significant changes to the framework, policies, and procedures for handling cases of sexual abuse committed by regulated professionals. Representatives from regulatory organizations in the United States, Australia and Canada share information about what prompted a review of these procedures, what changes have been implemented for investigations of allegations of sexual boundary violations, and what impact the changes have had.


This session will include a summary of the the findings of the 2017 report by Professor Ron Paterson, ‘Independent review of the use of chaperones to protect patients in Australia,' and explains the rationale for his recommendations, adopted by the national health practitioner regulator, to abandon the use of chaperones and respond in new ways to alleged sexual misconduct by a doctor.


Anne Tonkin will describe the Medical Board of Australia's response to Ron Paterson's review, including the structural and cultural changes that have occurred over the past four years to improve the management of allegations of sexual misconduct by doctors.


Melanie de Leon will discuss how the Washington Medical Commission is once again scrutinizing how they investigate and process allegations of sexual misconduct by doctors and where they plan to go in the next year.


Lara Kinkartz will discuss some of the key changes that were made to Ontario’s Regulated Health Professions Act in the wake of a provincial task force’s report about preventing sexual abuse of patients. Reflecting on the four years since those amendments were made, the discussion will focus on areas that have resulted in positive change, as well as new questions and challenges that have arisen.


Presenters:

Professor Ron Paterson, Emeritus Professor of Law at the University of Auckland and Distinguished Visiting Fellow at the Melbourne Law School


Ron Paterson is Emeritus Professor of Law at the University of Auckland and Distinguished Visiting Fellow at the Melbourne Law School. He was New Zealand Health and Disability Commissioner 2000–10 and Parliamentary Ombudsman 2013–16. He is the author of The Good Doctor: What Patients Want (2012) and co-editor of Skegg & Paterson, Health Law in New Zealand (2015). His research interests include complaint resolution, inquiries, healthcare quality, aged care quality and the regulation of professions.


Ron has led several major policy advisory reviews in New Zealand, including the Review of the Veterans’ Support Act (2018) and the Government Inquiry into Mental Health and Addiction (2018). Major reviews undertaken in Australia include the Review of the Use of Chaperones to Protect Patients in Australia (2017) and the Review of National Aged Care Quality Regulatory Processes (2017).


Ron undertakes consultancy, advisory and mediation roles in the public sector.


Dr Anne Tonkin, BSc(Hons), BMBS, M.Ed, PhD, FRACP, Chair, Medical Board of Australia


Anne Tonkin is Chair of the Medical Board of Australia which is responsible for registration and regulation of all doctors in Australia. She has been involved in medical regulation for more than 10 years and was first appointed to the Medical Board of South Australia in 2009 and then the national Board in 2015. She held the position of Chair of the South Australian Board from 2012 until she was appointed as Chair of the National Board in 2018. In 2017, following an independent review of the management of complaints involving allegations of sexual boundary transgressions, Anne was appointed as the inaugural Chair of a new national committee charged with managing all of these matters across the country.


Anne trained as a general physician with a sub-specialty in clinical pharmacology, and practiced at the Royal Adelaide Hospital for more than 25 years. She was a clinical academic in the Adelaide Medical School for 22 years, and now holds an honorary position as Emeritus Professor in Medical Education.


Melanie deLeon, Executive Director, Washington State Medical Commission


Melanie de Leon is an attorney, a military veteran and the Executive Director for the Washington Medical Commission. She has a bachelor’s degree in business administration from the University of Puget Sound, a master’s degree in public administration from Golden Gate University and a law degree from Seattle University School of Law.

She spent her first 13 years in the workforce as an US Air Force officer, then completed her law degree and began working for the Washington State Attorney General’s Office prosecuting child abuse and neglect cases. In January 2008, she was appointed by Attorney General Rob McKenna to be the Executive Director of the Washington State Executive Ethics Board. Since August 2014, Melanie has been the Executive Director for the Washington State Medical Commission that licenses, regulates and disciplines approximately 34,000 allopathic physicians and physician assistants who treat Washington patients. In 2019, her commission won the Administrator’s in Medicine “Best of Boards” award. She is currently a Staff Fellow on the Federation of State Medical Boards Board of Directors.



Lara Kinkartz, Associate, WeirFoulds LLP, Toronto, Ontario


The webinar will take place

February 2, 2022 (US and Canada):

4:00 – 5:00 pm Eastern Standard Time

3:00 – 4:00 pm Central Standard Time

2:00 – 3:00 pm Mountain Standard Time

1:00 – 2:00 pm Pacific Standard Time

12:00 – 1:00 pm Alaska Standard Time

5:00 – 6:00 pm Atlantic Standard Time


February 3, 2022 (Australia and New Zealand):

5:00 - 6:00 am AWST

6:30 - 7:30 am ACST

7:00 - 8:00 am AEST

7:30 - 8:30 am ACDT

8:00 - 9:00 am AEDT

10:00 - 11:00 am NZDT


Offerings are presented through web-based PowerPoint and audio. Attendees receive a copy of the PowerPoint presentation after the webinar.

With your registration fee, you may have up to 5 attendees logging in from separate computers. When registering, please add guests (at no additional charge), and all registered attendees will receive the email with login instructions. Please make sure to include your guests in the registration; do not forward the webinar login link to others.


Can't attend live? Register now for the event, and we'll send you a recording instead.

Planning to attend live but you'd also like a copy of the recording afterwards?  Webinar attendees can choose to purchase the webinar recording at a discounted rate when registering.


By registering for this event, I understand that CLEAR will be recording this session and I consent to such a recording. Questions about session recordings can be directed to Stephanie Thompson at sthompson@clearhq.org or at webinars@clearhq.org.




Copyright © 2021 CLEAR
Please read the following disclaimer.  |  
Website by Nicasio LLC and CLEAR
108 Wind Haven Dr., Ste. A
Nicholasville, KY 40356
(859) 269-1289
Fax: (859) 231-1943
Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software